Hello from Santa Cruz!

photo

As I’m writing this, I’m curled up in what I’ve claimed as my Jesus chair for the next few days, looking out over the beautiful Pacific Ocean. One of the cuties I’m watching is lounged like a Roman, goldfish in hand, completely entranced with Charlottes Web. The other two are taking naps – oh the joys of being one and two!

I arrived in San Jose late Saturday night after a long day of traveling and oh it is so good to be here. As much as I really do love traveling, 14 hours by yourself is a little less fun. I will however say that after flying over and landing in Colorado, the Rockies are definitely added to my list to see! I cannot get over the rugged fierce beauty of those peaks.

These first few days, I’m just hanging with the kiddos as the leadership team and staff prepare for the project to start a week from today! It’s good to be out here. It’s good to meet people and see where I’ll be living for the next few months. It’s good to walk the boardwalk where I will be working. It’s good to have such a confidence that this really is exactly where God meant for me to be. There has been such an outpouring of encouragement from friends and family the last couple of days. Thank you for that. But it’s hard. Leaving was harder than I anticipated.

I’m so excited to be out here and so ready to officially start the project in a week and just get to watch God to great stuff this summer, but it’s not all easy. I’m tired and nervous. I’m in a weird limbo of being the only student here so I’m definitely looking forward to being joined by the rest of the team. I’m missing home – not the place but the familiarity and the people. But at the same time, I’m so overwhelmed by Jesus’s presence with me the last few days. Through other people and my own Jesus time, there is such a comfort in knowing that I’m really getting to just release my anxiety and my concern and my sadness from missing people and letting him pull me close and whisper “I am proud. I am here. Be excited.”

So how can you be praying?

  1. Rest. The time change isn’t too drastic but I keep waking up at 5:30am and am not getting the sleep that would be helpful to chase three kids under four around all day.
  2. Financially. I still have $1200 to raise in the next week. Thank you so much to everyone who has financially supported me. You guys have blown me away with your support and generosity. But really keep praying for this and for peace as it can be a bit stressful. I’m so excited to get to watch God provide though! He is so good!
  3. Nerves. I love new situations and experiences but the first week or so of adjustment is always a bit rough. As I’m figuring out Santa Cruz and the dynamic of the mission, just be praying for a continued confidence and increased excitement as I’m getting used to the other side of the country!
One thought on “Hello from Santa Cruz!

  1. Kaitlyn Powell says:

    So incredibly proud of you sweet Adelyn. I tried texting you so i don’t know if you got it or not but I just want you to know I’ve been praying for you. You’re doing such big things and you’re going to change the world one day. Love you lots sunshine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

